Marsha Canham's Blog

January 6, 2011

Ahh, where do we get our ideas?

Filed under: Caesars Through the Fence — marshacanham @ 4:28 pm

In recent months, as most know, I’ve been working on getting my backlist back up in digital form.  I’ve painstakingly retyped China Rose and Bound by the Heart and The Wind and the Sea and Swept Away.  Okay, so I didn’t have to totally retype the latter two, thanks to actually having them on files of one form or another, but the first two were taken from the original typewritten sheets.

As most authors tend to do when referring to their works, the titles get shortened into acronyms.  China Rose becomes CR, etc etc.

Over the years, I’ve grown used to referring to The Wind and the Sea as TWATS, and while I still get a little chuckle over it, especially if the context of the sentence just sounds wrong…as in, “I was messing around with TWATS today…”  Usually I retype and reword those sentences, but some manage to sneak through.  The 60 or so authors on the BacklistEBooks group loop gasped when they first saw my reference to TWATS, and most remarked on it with much amused laughter.  I had to explain that back in the days of typewriters and hand written letters, acronyms were not used as much as in email and textspeak, so it was quite a while after TWATS was published that I realized what the acronym spelled out.  I have, ever since, sworn that I had no idea, that I was totally innocent of preplanned nefariousness, as was my editor who also failed to catch it or even point it out.

So.  All this leads up to the fact that after retyping and revising these books and realizing that it’s possible I haven’t quite been forgotten out there in the world of historical romance, the muse has been stirred to life and yes, I am working on the sequel to The Iron Rose, namely Gabriel Dante’s adventures into swashbuckling and romance.  I’m about 60 pages in and needed to peruse the West Indies for an ideal location for a Spanish galleon to go aground and lo and behold…I found the perfect place.  It is part of the Bahamas, which suits perfectly for location.  It is, to this day even, one of the lesser explored and populated islands with no deep water ports that would have attracted shipping back in the 1600’s.  Running alongside it is a reef, referred to as a little barrier reef, again perfect for a ship caught in a hurricane to be blown up onto the shallows and wrecked.

I’m smiling as I type this, because the channel of water that runs alongside it is called The Tongue of the Ocean, and the island itself is shaped like a….well….see for yourself….

Chuckling yet?

So, for the record, yes, this is the perfect island and yes, I’m using it deliberately.  I mean really, what author of a swashbuckling romance could pass it by?

*g*

3 Comments »

  1. OMG..I am so excited!!! I can’t wait to read Gabriel’s story. PLEASE keep us posted when it is released. I added the Kindle Ap to my PCs just so I could read your books.

    Comment by Juliet — January 6, 2011 @ 4:51 pm | Reply

  2. I am excited to know that we can look forward to a new novel (I’ve read all of them now) and I am chuckling with the form of the isle. You know, the one who name it knew what he was doing because ANDROS mean MAN.LOL

    Comment by Susana — January 6, 2011 @ 9:23 pm | Reply

  3. Looking forward to the new book, LP. Ummmm, for the book, are you re-naming the island? Phsol Island, maybe. ROFL

    Comment by SurferG — January 7, 2011 @ 2:22 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

