Marsha Canham's Blog

March 1, 2011

Coming to you from sunny Florida

Filed under: Caesars Through the Fence — marshacanham @ 3:23 pm

Well, okay so it’s raining today, but Florida needs the rain, or so the weather guys say.  Last week was all sunshine and 80’s, a magnificent change from shoveling three feet of white stuff every day.  The alternative to shoveling has been painting, but I’d rather paint in the early morning temps of 70 than shovel anytime *snort*.  Plus, I don’t have to look at orange walls anymore when I sit outside in the screen room… BONUS!

At the moment I have a good friend visiting for a week.  She came down with some trepidation, warning me that she didn’t sleep well at night these days so I might hear her rummaging around in the early morning hours.  Plus she normally works a shift that requires her to get up at 3am to be at work for 4.

Yesterday she slept till 8am.  Even she couldn’t believe it LOL.  I said it was the heat and the quiet and the fresh air…not to mention quantities of good white plonk.

Other than the need to rid the universe of tacky orange paint, I’ve planted new gardens and set up an office-away-from-home.  Being one of those dinosaur type writers, I find it nearly impossible to edit off a computer screen, so I found an amazing bargain on a laser printer (49 bucks!!!!!!! regularly 129) and an equally amazing deal on an ergonomic keyboard which means I don’t have to backspace every other word to hit the right keys.

Have I ever mentioned how much I hate laptop keyboards???  I feel all squished in, elbows hugging the ribs, fingers scrunched, eyes squinting and puter-rage building every time I have to hunch over a laptop. Blah.  So now I have my split keyboard, my printer…and words are pouring forth. Hopefully by the end of next week I’ll have a teaser chapter ready to post for  The Following Sea.  A lot of readers have dropped hints about wanting a sequel to The Iron Rose, and frankly, that was the book that broke the camel’s back as far as me going on hiatus.  The editors rejected the original proposal saying “pirate books weren’t commercial enough”  and that I should really think about getting into the vampire/paranormal market.  Double Blah.

With the whole new world of self publishing opening up, it’s giving dinosaurs like me the option of writing whateverthehell I want to write, and if only a handful of people read it…well…then I’ve made myself and a handful of people happy *s*.

These few brief words have been put up to ‘splain that I haven’t dropped off the face of the earth, I’ve just been eradicating orange paint and planting azaleas.  My sympathies to those of you still enduring snow. bwahahahahahaha.  Not.

2 Comments »

  1. Can’t wait for the teaser chapter! I love love love Gabriel and can’t wait to see who/what you have lined up for him. As far as laptops I feel your pain. My husband has one which I CANNOT write on at all. When I do, I hit some stupid button that has me typing 4-5 lines above. However, my wonderful in laws bought me a laptop last year and I seem to do better with that…but like you I do best on my desktop keyboard. Keep the muse going.

    Comment by Juliet — March 1, 2011 @ 3:41 pm | Reply

  2. I bet that has to be a great feeling, to write whatever you want, however you want. Good for you, and I’m really looking forward to this book! My Marsha Canham dryspell has gone on too long (Did you happen to read this? Millionairess Self-publisher. It’s amazing to me how far ebooks have come.)

    And if you think laptops are scrunchy, you should try a netbook. I got one for each of the grandkids–perfect for their little pre-teen fingers, but I can hardly see the 10″ screen, let alone type on them. I want an Ipad; the idea of finger scrolling appeals to me greatly. 🙂

    Comment by JQ — March 2, 2011 @ 5:26 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

