Marsha Canham's Blog

October 23, 2011

Can you hear me growling from here?

Filed under: Caesars Through the Fence — marshacanham @ 2:19 pm

Can you hear me now?

AUGH!

For such a honkin big company, conglomerate, business, whatever you want to call it, Amazon can sure muck things up.

As authors, we are all well aware that glitches go through in the files we upload. Could be typing mistakes and misspelled words. Could be problems with the scanning process and converting the copy that was scanned into a document file. Could be hidden codes built into Word that cause ellipses to become split between one line and the next, and that throws off the indents. Could be the nano-brain of some dumb author misfiring, who somehow forgot to include a chapter in the final file while she was assembling it.

Yeah. That was me. The infamous missing chapter Twenty Eight in Bound by the Heart.  One of the most crucial chapters in the book, of course. The omission was brought to my attention back in June of this year, and I immediately corrected the file (the nano-brained numbwit had numbered the chapters in the original files wrong, so when they were put together, at 3 in the morning when I tend to do all crucial things, one of them was misnamed, misfiled, catastrophe was in place) and uploaded the new file with correctly numbered chapters, including the missing #28.

That should have fixed it, right?

WRONG.

You’ve heard about the perfect storm? How three relatively harmless storm fronts swirl together at exactly the same time, over the exact same place and cause chaos?

Wellllll….shortly before the corrected file was uploaded, I tried to invite a little interest in my backlist books by making one of my books free. Guess which one I chose?  Yepper. Bound by the Heart. It’s actually a pretty good book. It was the second one I wrote, but if you’ve followed my adventures into ebook land, you’ll know I did extensive rewrites on it, removing and reworking a scene that has been bothering me since it was written and released. Some readers seem to think I did it to be politically correct, but that’s not the case. It was a rape scene, written at a time when Rosemary Rogers was queen and every book had a rape scene in it. I was new and hadn’t learned to flex my author muscles yet, so in an effort to *fit in* with the trend at the time, I had my hero rape the heroine. I could even justify it by saying back then, that’s what happened. If a pirate captured a beautiful young woman, he sure wasn’t about to “win her with my charm” as some of the old pirate genre books implied.  He would toss her on the deck and take what he wanted and then probably hand her around to the crew. So it wasn’t that the rape was out of character for the time period, it was the aftereffect that was. A la Rosemary Rogers,  the heroine succumbed to the incredible pleasure she discovered in his arms and they went on to boink happily and passionately whenever they had the chance.  The problem was, it wouldn’t have been in Morgan Wade’s character.  Well, it would, but it wouldn’t.  I don’t think he would have raped her. It just wasn’t the kind of man he was, and making him do something out of character, then trying to justify it, never did feel right to me. So…when I had the chance to change it, I jumped all over it and rewrote the scene to match the man.  I know I’m rambling off topic again, but I saw a comment just the other day on a discussion board that mentioned my name and said I had changed it because of readers comments.  That certainly factored into the decision, but it wasn’t the main reason why I did it.  I did it because it felt right for the hero’s character.  There is a rape in The Wind and the Sea, and it was left as is in the reissue because it fit the mood and temperament of Adrian’s character at that point in time. He was pissed, he was drunk, he was angry at the world, pondering mutiny, and Courtney said the wrong things at the wrong time and he reacted with force. It fit the story and the times and, at that point in the book, the characters.

So now back to the perfect storm.

Bound by the Heart had been uploaded back in October of 2010, I do believe.  I didn’t learn about the missing chapter until June of 2011..following a week in late May when it was Free for 10 days and 60K copies were downloaded. A couple of readers emailed me asking if the book was missing a chapter, and when I looked, to my utter horror, I found that it was. As previously mentioned, I immediately uploaded the corrected file to Amazon and Smashwords, posted an apology to the readers alerting them to the fact a new version was available and they could simply download the new copy.

>>>5.0 out of 5 stars Apolgies from the Author, May 27, 2011
This review is from: Bound By The Heart (Kindle Edition)

If you downloaded Bound by the Heart between May 25 and May 27 you may be missing chapter 28. I can’t tell you how sorry I am for the omission, but it has been corrected and a new version is uploaded. My very humble apologies for any aggravation this might cause. I have visions of readers reaching the crucial point in the book and going WHAT? WHERE? HOW? then throwing it against the wall. Please don’t throw it *s* Just download a new copy. And if there is any problem with a new download, please contact me directly. Thank you so much. This is like an author’s worst nightmare. augh.>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Sounds easy enough, yes?

As recently as a month ago, Amazon’s “quality control” eagle eyes wrote to me advising me a reader had complained of a misspelled word and a missing chapter in Bound by the Heart.  Missing chapter? Huh? I wrote to Amazon and told them I had uploaded a newer version back in early June, also that I had been under the impression that a notice would have been sent out to all the readers who had purchased the book that a revised edition had been posted.  Silly me.   As recently as a few days ago a reader had left a review complaining about the missing chapter.  And around the same time I was told that notices DON’T go out to readers, and what’s more, if they try to download the book again, they get the same corrupted file, not the new one.

AUGH!

I have the missing chapter posted on my website  http://www.marshacanham.com/boundbytheheart_ch28.html but since that seems a poor man’s solution to a bigger problem, I have decided to simply remove  Bound by the Heart  from Amazon.  It means I lose all the terrific 5 star reviews (there were 29 of them, and 10  4 star) When all traces of it have vanished (It still shows up on my author KDP page) I will upload it again, but until then, it’s only available through Smashwords, Barnes and Noble, Sony,  and Apple.

I don’t understand how Amazon could have a glitch like that in their system. How they could keep sending out a corrupt file when the new one has been uploaded for months and months.  Blah.

When it comes back online, I will do my best to make it free again in the hopes that those 60K readers who were interested enough to download it before will come back and download it again.  It really is a good book *s*

6 Comments »

  1. I got my copy from Kindle and I just checked, it does have the full chapter. I just finished China Rose. I couldn’t believe that was a first book! It was amazing! I loved it!

    Comment by Elaine McDonald — October 23, 2011 @ 3:16 pm | Reply

    • Thank you Jill, and thank you Elaine. Morgan Wade was my first privateer, my first foray onto the high seas so the book has a special place in my lil ol’ heart. I doubt I would have written The Wind and the Sea or Across A Moonlit Sea or The Iron Rose had I not had so much fun doing BBTH.

      Comment by marshacanham — October 23, 2011 @ 3:33 pm | Reply

  2. I’m shaking my head. I can’t believe that a corrected file cannot be made available to people who have previously purchased a book that contained an error. One would think the corrupted file would disappear once a new version had been uploaded. Obviously not! But what do I know? I think it’s a blasted shame you’ve had to take this book down at Amazon completely. A darned shame…it is a good book. It’s a very good book!

    Comment by JILLMETCALF — October 23, 2011 @ 3:25 pm | Reply

  3. I have received a corrected file from Amazon, so yes they can do this. I don’t remember which book it was though. Another question, I was about to purchase the Iron Rose. I have Across a Moonlit Sea. Would it be better to purchase the Pirate Wolf Duet, since the third installment will be included with it.

    Comment by Elaine McDonald — October 23, 2011 @ 3:54 pm | Reply

    • Elaine, when The Following Sea is ready to publish, those who have purchased The Pirate Wolf Duet will have a month to download it again and get the version that will include the third book. After that the Duet will become a Trilogy and cost a few extra bucks. Exactly WHEN The Following Sea will be finished and polished and edited is still up in the air…I’m aiming for Christmas, but as everyone knows, I’ve never met a deadline yet, even one I’ve set for myself. But I’m trying, I’m trying. I’m in the midst of a sea battle as we speak; my characters are searching for lost treasure; I’m having my own little mental love affair with Gabriel Dante *cheesy grin* so I’m working as diligently as I can. The choice is yours whether to wait or not.

      Comment by marshacanham — October 23, 2011 @ 4:21 pm | Reply

  4. Thanks, Marsha. Keep writing! Love your books! They are amazing! 😀

    Comment by Elaine McDonald — October 24, 2011 @ 12:24 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

