Marsha Canham's Blog

December 5, 2011

Comfort food

Filed under: Caesars Through the Fence — marshacanham @ 4:02 pm

Coming up on Christmas, time to do all the baking and cooking, planning what to do in advance, what to cut off the list this year because it went over like a 50lb sledge hammer dropped on the toe.  Pretty much all of my baking has that result.  For some unknown reason I decided last year to bake a multitude of Christmas cookies, including merangues, shortbreads, lemon things, and delicious (I thought) red velvet cookies. Yeah. Well.  I think the last time I put on a baking spree I was living back in Eden Pit and Jefferson was four or five and the neighbours decided to have a cookie exchange. The idea of course is to bake 6 dozen cookies and bundle them in packets of 6, then you leave your dry, lumpy blob cookies there for some unsuspecting sap to pick up while you take home 6 dozen cute, decorated, delicious kinds of cookie.  I had six people ask me wtf it was on the plate. Several of the laughed. Not sure any of them actually put them out for company.  They were my comfort cookies. Oatmeal peanutbutter chocolate chip raisin, and they were the only thing I could bake that my family said were good.

I can cook. I can whip up almost any kind of meat, potato, veggie, turkey, chicken, rib dinner, Italian Chinese or Polish influenced for 40 people in two hours!  But I can’t bake.  Nope. Give me a cake recipe and you get the deer-in-the-headlights look. Of the three deserts that I *make* that get rave reviews, two involve no baking, just toss the stuff together and put it in the fridge. That would be the ubiquitous no bake cheesecake, the recipe for which I cut out of a TVGuide magazine about 35 years ago and still keep hermetically sealed in an equally ancient tupperware container.  The second one is the Birthday Cake.

Amusing story behind the Birthday Cake. When Jefferson was about 5 we went to New Jersey to visit my favorite uncle. We had never been to New York and thought it would be cool to combine a family visit with sightseeing in the Big Apple.  Stupid and I took in our first Broadway show, which was A Chorus Line, he and Jefferson climbed up into the Statue of Liberty and waved from the torch, we walked through Central Park and stepped in horse poop. I recall standing on a corner somewhere near Wall Street checking a map in relative normal street traffic then boom, five minutes later we were clinging to lamp posts for dear life as the street flooded with people. Tourists. Stupid and I were at different posts… he’d been swept along in the crowd of office workers rushing for home until he managed to snag another pole…and we were shouting over their heads to stay in contact.  That little experience affected his bladder and while he was in a questionable little restaurant easing the tension, apparently a tall black gentlemen stood at the urinal beside him, got distracted, missed the bowl and splashed all over Stupid’s foot.

So when we got back to Mountainside, where my uncle lived, he instantly went downstairs and washed his foot and his sandals. My aunt, who had been greeted with “Excuse me, I have to go wash my foot” just looked at me and rather calmly asked if he always did that, and was it a foot fetish?

But anyway, ramble aside, it was also Stupid’s birthday and she had thoughtfully made him a birthday cake while we were fighting the hoards in NYcity.  It was a delicious concoction of angel food cake and an icing that had us drooling. When I hesitantly asked her for the recipe, she snorted and told me the cake was store bought, the icing was a tub of Cool Whip with smashed up Crunchy chocolate bars mixed in.  That was it.

SO. Ever since that fateful day, the Crunchy cake has been our Birthday Cake, and over the past 30 years, no one has gotten tired of it. I’ve had to double the recipe,as our numbers increased with DILs and SILs and grandkids,  making two cakes and using two tubs of CW and five chocolate bars, but there’s never any left on the cake dish to suggest I stop making it.

The third desert, recently added to my arsenal is Key Lime Pie.  Years ago, before marriage even, Stupid and I took a trip down to the Florida Keys.  We went all the way to Key West and stood at land’s end just so I could say I stood where Hemmingway had stood. At one of the tiny diners we ordered Key Lime Pie and it knocked my socks off. It was the perfect blend of sweet and tart, had a firm consistency, and not a speck of meringue in sight.  I’ve been searching for that pie for nearly forty years, trying it in every place that advertises “the best” or “prize winning” key lime pie, but all of them are made like lemon meringue pie, with squooshy pudding filling that sort of tastes like a lime if you close your eyes and imagine it real hard.  The few…very few..that have come close have avoided the meringue topping, but still….missed the mark completely.

Last winter when I was in Orlando, one of the snowbird neighbors found a recipe for Key Lime Pie on the internet that she wanted to try. Being the Key Lime guinea pig, she brought a piece over to me to taste and OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  It was my pie!!!!!!! It was that perfect blend of sweet and tart, the perfect consistency, taste, everything!!!!!  I had found it.  Like the prodigal son who wanders up to the door and says yo! I’m home.

So I made it rather tentatively for the family when I got home and BOOM!  Instant hit.  Even the grandkids dig in and ask for seconds. They like to toss a swirl of whipped cream on top, but I like it plain, I like to savor the pleasure of eating something I searched so long to find. So thank you Carolyn. *s*  The DIL has even requested the Key Lime Pie for our Christmas dinner dessert this year in place of the ubiquitous no bake cheesecake. She’s even volunteered to whip the cream!  Bonus!

In a way I feel a bit bereft.  That pie, after all, was like my quest for the grail, and gave me an excuse to try every key lime pie offered in every diner between here and wherever I travel.  It’s now firmly entrenched with the Best BBQ Sauce ever on the planet…the only other recipe I have kept for over 35 years… and my salmon dip, which is really made with chicken but still called salmon dip. It’s only about 20 years young, but still qualifies as Canham Family Comfort Food

So…anyone else have a grail food or a comfort food they couldn’t imagine doing without?

9 Comments »

  1. Had I only known you were searching for a key lime pie recipe. I lived in Miami for many years and made it often. For a change, I made it with tiny, sour oranges (Calamondin).

    Since I live alone now, I don’t make desserts but Lemon Lush was my favorite. I also made it with chocolate and recently thought I would try it with pumpkin. Can’t wait to taste that.

    Comment by Margaret Lake — December 5, 2011 @ 4:11 pm | Reply

    • Okay, Lemon Lush sounds…luscious. Care to share the recipe?

      Comment by marshacanham — December 6, 2011 @ 1:37 pm | Reply

  2. Marsha:
    I adore key lime pie. It would be greatly appreciated if you would email me a copy of that recipe.
    Many thanks.
    John

    Comment by John Carter — December 5, 2011 @ 4:20 pm | Reply

    • Here’s the recipe:

      Ingredients:

      3 egg yolks
      ½ cup Key Lime Juice (HAS to be Key Lime Juice, not regular lime juice)
      One 14-ounce can Eaglebrand condensed milk
      ¼ tsp. vanilla extract
      Pinch of salt
      One 9-inch graham cracker crust
      I also like to add the zest from one small lime, just adds an extra oomph.

      Directions:

      1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.
      2. In a medium bowl, whisk the egg yolks until blended; whisk in the Key lime juice.
      3. Add the Eaglebrand condensed milk, vanilla, zest, and salt, whisking until blended.
      4. Pour into the crust and bake for about 15 minutes, until the filling has set.
      5. Remove from the oven and let cool completely on a wire rack. Refrigerate until ready to serve.

      Comment by marshacanham — December 6, 2011 @ 1:35 pm | Reply

  3. WOMAN!
    WTF?!

    I swear I should NOT read your posts at work! But, also I couldn’t WAIT to read them at home! How can I wait EIGHT hours to find out the next thing the STUPID will do?!!!

    And as for baking, I feel your pain, and at this point, I think we might be twins separated at birth…I was born in Serbia….How about you?!

    I used to be an EXCELLENT baker. All in my family came to me to bake them Birthday Cakes. What the Hell happened to my baking skills, I can’t tell you, but they not only got RUSTY, they got DEADLY!!!

    Get this! I totally got you beat, Chick!

    EVERY Christmas I do my ‘no bake cookies’ [like you, I went the same route and wanted to avoid the whole ‘pity’ looks I was getting], so I made them, same freaking recipe as EVERY freaking year,(butter, Keks biscuits, nuts, raisins, sugar and RAW eggs-mix, shape, roll-VOILA) Made two batches and took one of them to work and left one at home for us and the kids…

    Need I finish the story?! Let me tell you I was LUCKY only one batch was bad and we had TWO bathrooms!!

    LOVE your posts!
    BTW: I am LOVING the Anthology 🙂

    Mel
    http://www.bookworm2bookworm.wordpress.com
    A Place for All Romance and Book Lovers!

    Comment by Bookworm — December 5, 2011 @ 5:28 pm | Reply

    • LOL Mel, You’re right, You have me beat. I’ve never sent anyone to the bathroom from my baking. However, I have had people hit the top of a pie crust with a fork (hard) and not make a dent. I’ve had family members refuse to believe the green stuff in the lady fingers at the bottom of a tirimasu was from the blue Curacao I soaked them in. (tossed that whole pan out) And I’ve made muffins that required instant disposal in the garbage WITH the pan they were scorched into.

      Comment by marshacanham — December 5, 2011 @ 5:58 pm | Reply

      • LOL!

        I tell you we were sick for days….It was coming out on both ends, and it was NOT a pretty picture! I am now banned from EVER even attempting to make them 😦

        My DH was freaking out when he heard I took it to work and FED the whole staff (my boss is in par w/THE Donald, so you do the math)! He was sure I poisoned everyone and that they’ll sue his ass off AND fire mine!!!

        THANK GOD I made two batches! Everyone at work got a kick out of my predicament!

        Comment by Bookworm — December 5, 2011 @ 7:25 pm

  4. As usual a great read!
    We have missed you Marsha and are so glad you are doing this blog
    If I can’t visit I can at least pretend to talk to you while reading

    Comment by Bren — December 5, 2011 @ 8:05 pm | Reply

  5. OK, all this talk of pies and cookies is making my mouth water. Unlike you, Marsha, I love to bake and find it a great, creative tension reliever. My cheesecake has been very popular with friends and family. I recall when I was in law school (many moons ago), studying for my criminal law final, I got a call from a fellow student asking me for some advice on how to answer a particularly sticky question and I had to tell her, “Just a minute, I have to take my cheesecake out of the oven.” Well, when I got back on the phone, my friend couldn’t believe I was baking the night before a final. For me it was the best way to relieve the tension. And, it tasted pretty good, too!

    Comment by Regan — December 5, 2011 @ 8:50 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

