Marsha Canham's Blog

December 16, 2011

Where are the mothers of these idiots?

Filed under: Caesars Through the Fence — marshacanham @ 3:53 pm

My grandkids came home from school yesterday, looking forward to playing on their Wii or their PSwhatever or just hanging and watching TV…same as they do every day. The grandson is old enough now to babysit, so he earns a little extra money by watching his sister after school–probably extra on top of that for not duct taping her to a lamp post outside when she goes into Diva mode.

They came home yesterday to find the house had been broken into. Teenagers, the cops figured, probably two of them. They came in through the kitchen window, which required some dexterity and nimbleness, but they exited through the sliding doors, both of which they left wide open in the pouring rain. They obviously watched enough CSI to wear gloves, because they didn’t leave any fingerprints behind. And we suspect they have done it before because they bypassed all the big stuff and went straight to the bedrooms to look for jewelry…easy to carry, easy to stash in pockets, easy to walk away and saunter down the street looking innocent as newborn lambs.

Easy to completely destroy the feeling of safety a family should have in their own home.

They probably thought they were clever and hit the motherlode. They got the diamond and sapphire bracelet I gave my daughter in law on her wedding day, and the heavy gold link bracelet I gave to my son. They got rings that were over a hundred years old, passed down to the DIL through her great grandmother. They even got the tiny diamond pendant I gave to my granddaughter on her first birthday thinking a girl has to start out life with some bling. It wasn’t very valuable, a couple of hundred bucks new and hocked, they’ll maybe get twenty. The real value in most of what was taken is in the sentiment. How do you put a dollar figure on rings that belonged to a great great grandmother. It’s not like they were from Cartier. Again, they’ll get maybe 5 cents on the dollar for them, but to my daughter in law they were priceless.

They got watches and earrings and chains and bracelets, and on their way out, grabbed a Christmas bag that was half filled with wrapped gifts for my son’s brother in law. I guess they cleverly figured: who is going to stop someone walking down the street carrying a Christmas bag full of gifts?

What I want to know is, when these Mensa candidates go home, do their mothers not notice a big bag full of wrapped gifts and loose jewelry? Or after the stuff is hocked, do they not notice their kids suddenly have a lot of money to spend even though they’re not working and supposed to be school? Do they think that because their little darlings are going through a phase and belong to a *cool* gang at school, that they aren’t going to graduate from breaking into empty houses to breaking into bigger and better things?  Ten years from now, when they’re emptying their pockets and being patted down before going into the visiting room of a prison to see their precious sons (or daughters) behind bars…are they going to put on the “poor me” face and pretend they didn’t see it coming?

As for the thieves themselves…my Christmas wish for you is to have to spend a year chained to the ass of an elephant suffering from diarrhea .  I hope when you do reach the big time bars you’re pretty enough to attract Bubba’s attention. And when you’re lying there weeping and feeling sorry for yourself and wondering where it all went wrong…maybe you’ll think back to how much fun you had, how clever you thought you were destroying a family’s home and Christmas.

Fukkers.

6 Comments »

  1. Marsha, of course all you say is right. But the sad truth is that such young people were not raised with concepts of right and wrong and absolute truth. In a world where everything is relative and there is no God to hold you accountable, what matters if you take from others to enrich yourself? Having no conscious is a terrible thing and they are too young to see what decay they have begun in their souls by such behavior. The best you can do is to encourage your family to treasure the things thieves cannot take from them. Like your love. I remember when the victims of the horrible California fires said the same thing: they had each other and that was enough. At this time of year especially it is good to remember the things that matter, like a God who loves us enough to send a Savior.

    Comment by Regan — December 16, 2011 @ 4:50 pm | Reply

  2. DITTO!

    I’m so, so sorry for everything that happened and for the ‘fear’ and ‘anger’ that will be with all of you for some time to come. Before we moved to the suburbs [and the reason for it was almost exact thing that happened to your family] we lived on the North side of Chicago. A very friendly, Polish-German neighborhood with beautiful Bungalows with stained glass windows and mostly populated with older folks that hardly spoke English.

    I went to pick up kids from school [I was gone less then an hour], stopped at a grocery store and headed to the back door, kids following me. Before I climbed the stairs I saw my kitchen door wide open, promptly left my groceries, took the kids next door and called the police.

    Kids stayed at the neighbors until we cleaned the place up, but I was so angry that I could spit nails! HOW DARE YOU!? What galled was the mess they made of the kids stuff [took all their movies, games and cameras], like you said, small stuff that they’ll not get much money for, but something that means so much to US! They never caught them, but I always thought the same as you…Who THE Fuk raises these monsters?! They are that, because my kids were scared for months and I with them, but can’t show it, so at night I slept with the knife under my pillow! Thank God I hadn’t sliced myself!

    Not a year later we moved out.

    My hugs to all of you.

    Mel

    Comment by Bookworm — December 16, 2011 @ 4:57 pm | Reply

    • Well, the even more disheartening part of this is that they moved once already because of the same thing. Their last house, in a far busier, more crime-prone area, was broken into THREE TIMES and they finally gave up trying to live with the fear and anger. They moved to a small town where there is zero crime. I mean zero. And now this.

      Last night I saw the look on my daughter in law’s face when she was afraid to go upstairs by herself. The cops and Jeff had both searched upstairs and downstairs, but she was still genuinely terrified of going up those stairs herself until Jeff went up with her and made a point of checking into all the closets again and under the beds.

      I believe in Karma too, and sooner or later, either with the elephant or Bubba, those little bastards will get theirs, but it would be really nice to know they got caught and to see the looks on *their* faces.

      Comment by marshacanham — December 16, 2011 @ 5:18 pm | Reply

  3. I am sorry for you and your family.

    Comment by Juliet — December 16, 2011 @ 6:31 pm | Reply

  4. I’m so sorry your family lost such precious keepsakes. My mother’s diamond watch, beautiful diamond ring, and her platinum
    wedding band were stolen from my house while she was in a rest home. It was an inside job and there were multiple suspects. The real culprit wasn’t identified and the jewelry wasn’t recovered. I never told my mother about the thief. I wish I’d kept her things in my safe deposit
    box. They were only things, but I wish I still had them.

    I hope your family’s treasures will be recovered soon.

    Comment by Phoebe Conn — December 16, 2011 @ 6:55 pm | Reply

  5. OMG, Marsha. The fear factor alone would make me want to personally catch those creeps. It must have been terrible for the kids to walk in and realize what had happened. Thank goodness the thieves had gone before the children arrived home from school. It’s terrible, the loss of valuables and even worse when things we hold near and dear are taken from us, but, yes, I don’t blame Michelle for not wanting to go up those stairs. And if you can’t feel safe in your own home…well. I’m so sorry. Cyber hugs to all of you.

    Comment by JILLMETCALF — December 16, 2011 @ 8:35 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

