Marsha Canham's Blog

November 24, 2012

Kitchen Guy showed up!!!!!!

Filed under: Caesars Through the Fence — marshacanham @ 4:22 pm

But not until 12:15, and not with the rest of my kitchen in his truck as promised. And almost the first thing he did was take a wrong step off a footstool and twist his ankle. *snort*

He arrived with the new cupboard shells to replace the old ones. As I mentioned in an earlier whine, the upper cabinets were measured wrong and they were five inches too short. Now, had I known for sure he was going to show up, I would have emptied all the cupboards ahead of time so he would just have to pop the old ones off and drill the new ones up. But having been fooled before, despite promises to appear, I didn’t quite trust Houdini this time, so the first thing HE had to do was empty out the cupboards. And of course, halfway through clearing them, he stopped and swore because, yes, he was one cupboard short. Seized by a brain fart, he had forgotten about the cupboard over the sink, which was also the wrong height. Whilst cursing and swearing and laying the excuses and apologies on really REALLY thick, he misstepped coming off the two foot foot-step dufus, landed on his butt and clutched his eye, looking very much like he’d stabbed himself in the eye with the metal tape measure. I must admit some of my hostility waned at the though of having to rush him to the nearest hospital with a tape measure sticking out of his eye, but that too passed when he said it was his ankle, and that he had done it numerous times before, and damn, he might have to miss his hockey game that night.

The Death Stare  returned.

Now, I have known Kitchen Guy since he was brought home from the hospital in his mother’s arms. He’s gone through various identities, beginning way back as Crash Kelly from his tendancy to crash into things, people, animals…whatever was in his way. He and the Clone were best buddies until we moved half a province away. In his late teens, he started working for his father, helping out in the Woodworking Shop and after he finished school, he worked there full time, and I must admit,as Cabinet Guy,  he built me some damned fine cabinets. He did my office furniture, which has been moved twice  and altered twice and still looks as good as it did the day it was installed. He did my horse cabinet and my hugemongous armoire in the bedroom, plus curio cabinets and dining room hutches and various other pieces that I envisioned in my head but couldn’t find in any store. When I was looking for a new house, in fact, one of the prime requisites was that the armoire, the office furniture, and the horse cabinet would fit. That’s why it took three years to find the right place.

Anyway, when his father retired and moved up north, Cabinet Guy took over the business and became Kitchen Guy, focussing mainly on high end kitchens. So it was only natural that he was the first phone call I made after buying the Quirky New House. He actually came with me on one of the house inspections to take measurements and draw up plans…back in July.

Zoom forward four months and he’s laying on the floor clutching his eye and seeking sympathy. Nope. Not unless there was blood spewing forth, which there wasn’t. Having been limping around myself for a month since I started shlepping boxes from the other house, I welcomed him to the Limping Club, poured a glass of wine and watched him limp back and forth taking cupboards down and putting cupboards up.  I will say he redeemed himself in a major way when he produced the two glass cabinet doors for the wine glass cupboard. Working in stained glass myself, I was really, truly pleased with how marvellous the leaded windows turned out. They perfectly match the original leaded glass door that separates the kitchen from the rest of the house. It was taken down and moved to the garage to avoid any chance of accidental damage, so I haven’t seen them side by side yet, but the match is amazingly precise. So yeah, that cheered me up a bit. So did the nifty new garbage bin system he installed. It’s almost as cool as the newfangled lazy susan he put in the lower corner cupboard…you know the cupboard that is always four feet deep that you have to get on hands and knees and stretch your arms till your tongue hangs out in order to access the stuff at the very back?  And even if you put a regular lazy susan in, it normally takes a hinged cupboard that opens halfway into the kitchen and you still have to crouch to your knees to spin it around and reach stuff. Well, he put in a newfangled gizmo that opens like a sliding drawer with two metal shelves,  then it takes a turn to the right and pulls out further to bring a second set of shelves sliding forth. Farking amazing. Barely have to bend over and doesn’t take any more space than a regular cupboard door.

How cool is that?

So now, amidst limping, drilling, shlepping, Kitchen Guy gives me the new timeline. He now has to make a new cupboard to replace the one he forgot to replace this time around. He is taking final measurements for the fan hood/cupboard, which he is building and promises it will be splendid. He took final measurements for the bathroom vanity and laundry storage unit, which he couldn’t do, in all generous honesty, until Bathroom Guy finished hooking up the washer and dryer and the shower went in. Dominoes again, I tell ya. He PROMISES to have all the cupboards and cupboard doors installed before I leave for Florida, but warned me that the crown moulding will not be done by then cuz that too is being hand made and needs to have all the cupboards in place before a final measurement can be taken. He has again promised splendor, so we’ll see. Even though it has taken most of my spare nerves waiting for all this to be done and finished, I will say the cupboards are splendid, and despite a snail’s ability to work faster, Kitchen Guy’s workmanship….when he gets the measurements right *snort*…is most excellent.  Anyone else, I likely would have fired a month ago, but because I have faith in the end product, and because I know he would sob on my shoulder and “but…but…but…Mrs Canham” me to death, I shall trust the Kitchen Guy to come through with the promised splendor. It’s already more than halfway there, so I’ll share a few pics of the “before” and “during”.

This was how the kitchen looked before, and keep in mind, the same fisheye lens was used that skews the dimensions.

And the demo begins….

Even in the midst of chaos, diehard card players can make use of paint trays for chip dishes…and one must always move wine glasses into a new house first *snort*. It’s just a rule.

Reassembly begins…with the shorter cupboards, but at this point, any cupboards were good to have, even temporarily.

Moving Day arrived…..the morning after the countertops were installed, thank goodness.

Yeah, that was fun. As soon as one pile was unpacked, another pile took its place.

View of the island and eat-in section of kitchen…it almost looks finished from this angle *snort*

Until you turn around. This is with the shorter cabinets…but still a glimmer of splendidness starting to appear.

Here are the taller cabinets. You can just see on the far left, the *forgotten* cabinet still 5 inches short. And the middle missing cabinet door has to be shaved a bit to fit.

My splendid wine cabinet doors that almost make up for some of the angst.

The door beside the cabinet is still in the garage, but it should look quite spiffy when it’s put back in place.

So here are some side by sides. I had to patch my pics in places to compensate for the fisheye lens on the originals, but it gives a fair idea.

According to the new timeline, I have Bathroom Guy coming *some time* this week to install the backsplash and fan hood, which should improve that patchy-wall look immeasurably. Then the week after that, Kitchen Guy limps back to finish the doors, install the bathroom vanity, the laundry cupboards……possibly delivering nirvana…we shall see.

Hope I haven’t bored anyone with all of this. I met one of the neighbours while I was out walking Suzie the other day and she had also bought an old Victorian and renovated. Hers took four months. I figure mine will come in at around six by the time the upstairs bathroom is gutted and the two fireplaces are refaced and all the wall units built. Thankfully, I shall be enduring the second round of dust and chaos via email only, viewing whilst sipping wine under a palm tree. bwahahahahahahaha

13 Comments »

  1. And through all this, the lady found time to help me! Ya gotta love her.

    Comment by Judy Griffith Gill — November 24, 2012 @ 4:40 pm | Reply

    • LOL Thank you Judy, helping you helped get my mind off the chaos.

      Comment by marshacanham — November 24, 2012 @ 8:55 pm | Reply

  2. Hi Marsha,
    I wish my kitchen looked as good as your before pictures!

    Comment by Phoebe Conn — November 24, 2012 @ 6:14 pm | Reply

    • Well…I would have left it alone had any part of it been practical. What the pics don’t show is that the white cupboards were only about 10 inches deep and wouldn’t close with my dinner plates inside.The doors were mostly falling apart and none were level. There was absolutely no storage, ergo the new big pantry, and being 5’9″ with a bad back, the counters were too low and would have caused me all kinds of physical problems.(I learned the lesson two houses ago, that yes, two inches makes a huge difference) Plus, the countertops were covered with tiles that had been painted over, and if you rubbed hard, the blue paint came off. The tiny sink was 40 yrs old at least…blech and faced the wall, and the taps were ick ick ick with crusty lime scale. The new sink is by the window and the dishwasher was moved into the island to give me more cupboard space. The bulkhead over the original cupboards was a foot and a half of empty space all around the kitchen, and for someone who entertains a lot and needs every inch of space she can get, that was a huge waste. The island was a fair size, but again, covered with the painted tiles and since there wasn’t much counter space to begin with, the new island, is 6 X 3 and adds a lot to the work area….er, not that I do a lot of baking or anything, but I do like to spread stuff out. *s*

      Comment by marshacanham — November 24, 2012 @ 9:15 pm | Reply

  3. Yeah! And it’s beautiful!

    Comment by JILLMETCALF — November 24, 2012 @ 6:46 pm | Reply

    • Thank you Jill, and I’m looking forward to having you and the Coach over in the spring, since you’ve listened to me kvetch about stuff nearly every night for the past three months. It’s always good to have a friend who is a night owl too.. LOL

      Comment by marshacanham — November 24, 2012 @ 9:18 pm | Reply

      • I think you demonstrated amazing control, under the circumstances! Having live in utter chaos for that length of time would drive me nuts!

        Comment by JILLMETCALF — November 24, 2012 @ 9:59 pm

      • Who says it hasn’t. LOL.

        Comment by marshacanham — November 25, 2012 @ 5:19 am

  4. It looks fantastic. Well worth all the trouble.
    Virginia

    Comment by Virginia Henley — November 24, 2012 @ 9:58 pm | Reply

    • Thanks Virginia. I might feel the same in about six months.

      Comment by marshacanham — November 25, 2012 @ 5:20 am | Reply

  5. Hey Marsha, I think you should show pics of the washroom before and after. Lol

    Comment by Bathroom guy — November 25, 2012 @ 4:38 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

