Marsha Canham's Blog

June 21, 2015

Another episode of the Twilight Zone.

Filed under: Uncategorized — marshacanham @ 4:23 pm

This has to be one of the weirdest weekends I’ve had in a long time, so what better way to celebrate than write a blog…something else I’ve not done in a long time. As I explained a little while ago on another social media site, it isn’t that I don’t have anything to say. In fact some people might think I say too much at times *snort*. It’s just that I don’t have anything *new* to say about events and happenings that have been discussed around the web whether to do with publishing or not. So I figure, if I have nothing new and insightful and pithy to add, don’t do it just to fill up empty space.

I envy bloggers who come up with new and insightful and pithy things to talk about every day. They’re the ones who do what the social media gurus tell them to do and keep their names front and center. Keep posting. Keep talking and someone is bound to hear you. But if you’re an author, God forbid don’t talk about your books because that would be the *hard sell* approach and that would be kind of like getting that phonecall at 5:32 just as you’re sitting down for dinner. You race over to answer it and get some sales pitch for duct cleaning.

So, just in case you DO need your ducts cleaned, I’m an author and I have written a few books and you can find them all on my website http://www.marshacanham.com

But if you don’t need your ducts cleaned, and you know for sure it’s some dumbass wanting to sell you something at 5:32, just answer the phone in a whisper: “It’s done but there’s blood everywhere, what should I do?” Repercussions? “Why yes, officer, I have a touch of laryngitis and I was cutting up a chicken…”

So, back to my strange weekend. It began on Thursday, when I had arranged to have some friends over to play cards. These are all ladies who migrate south for the winter, where we play cards at least once a week, often more, drink lots of wine, have lots of laughs. Up north, we’re all about an hour away from each other so the games are fewer and farther between. But Thursday was good. The son of one of the ladies has been working in my basement, getting my stained glass shop built and organized, so he was going to be here Thursday. And because her hubby was going to be installing the pot lights, he came Thursday as well to help drywall the ceiling (yay, no more crawling things falling out of the rafters!!!!!!) and do the lights. And because another one of the hubbies hadn’t seen my girls in a while (Suzie and Midget) he was invited to come along as well and bring his saw to cut down an overgrown dead tree-bush-thing. It was a pot luck thing so I didn’t really have to do a lot of prepping, but for some whacky reason I decided to make chicken wellingtons and to bake fresh bread.

A small digression here. I cook…and I cook rather well, I think. Meat, veggies, salads, hors doovers…those I can whip off in no time with great and tasty aplomb. Bread, pastry, cakes…in fact, deserts of any kind…nope. In 50 years of cooking I’ve had maybe five successful deserts that I can make without my guests looking at me with those polite little smiles they wear moments before they bust out laughing. And I admit it. I’m not a baker. However, one of my very very few successes is challah bread. I love eating it, as my hips will attest, and I actually enjoy making it. The smell while its baking is to die for as well. Thus, despite the lack of running around and cooking everything in sight for dinner, I only had to struggle with the puff pastry for the wellingtons and make the bread. The rest arrived with the guests, just like in Florida when we have our pot luck dinners. I mark this as pitfall #1.

Dinner was great, we all ate and laughed and while the ladies had played cards all afternoon, the men had worked at their various jobs. The dogs and I fell into bed around 2ish and woke up the next morning thinking ah, another fine sunny day. Took the dogs for a long walk, did some laundry, did some writing, and when it came time to relax in the evening, flicked on Netflix and found the next episode of Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries, a series I had discovered the previous evening whilst looking for something other than brain fodder to watch.

And therein lay pitfall #2, because I didn’t look at the program guide for the regular TV.

If you haven’t caught any episodes of Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries, you should. It’s an Australian show set in the 1920’s with THE most splendid costumes and old cars and Agatha Christie type murder mysteries. The police detective isn’t hard to look at either. Reminds me a little of the Thin Man series of movies with William Powell and Myrna Loy.

Anyway, I watched half a dozen episodes then yawned my way to bed, and hit pitfall #3 because, although I looked at the program guide for the bedroom TV, it’s usually set on House Hunters or Diners, Drive-ins and Dives, and because I’m usually way past any news or weather, I don’t wander much farther than to choose between the two stations. Do I want to watch Guy Fieri eating his way through middle America, or do I want to drool over a spectacular house on a breathtaking beach in Maui where the house hunters whine because the counters aren’t granite. Really?

Woke up the next morning, went through my regular morning routine of get the coffee, let the dogs out, play hearts, rummy, and gummy drop on the ipad for an hour, get my second coffee and glare at the clock if it isn’t 9:00 yet. Not that anything special happens at 9:00, it’s just that one of these days I’m determined to sleep in that late. Hasn’t happened in about 30 years, but I live ever in hope.

That was when it occurred to me that I hadn’t heard the water softener kick in during the night. It’s located in the basement RIGHT under my bed, and at 2:30 every Saturday night, it sounds like a screaming hoard of banshees has invaded the cellar. I think perhaps the workers had unplugged it while they were in the basement, as had happened once before, so down I went to check. The light was on, the dufus was plugged in and working. Still had salt. Hmmm.

Back upstairs, I’m thinking: Father’s Day, so I sat out back sipping coffee, cuddling with the dogs, thinking about my dad and how much I miss him. He never got to see Jefferson get married, never got to see his two beautiful, terrific great-grandchildren. Never got to take a shovel to the back of Stupid’s head…

Ahem.

Yes, and so I went inside and posted a little poem on Facebook that I found, then sent an email to Jefferson inquiring about Payton’s graduation the next day. Since neither grandmother could get tickets (grrrrrr) I figure I can at least go to the house and take pictures before they leave. Not often you catch the Middle Canhams all dressed up in their finest *G*.

An email comes flying back from number one Son. The grad is Monday, not tomorrow.

Huh?

You know that weird tingly feeling that comes over you when you’ve just acknowledged a major dumbass moment. Yup. That was when it struck me that I lost a day. A whole day. Pitfall #1 when the Florida gang got together for cards and potluck. In Florida it doesn’t matter what day of the week it is, no one knows and no one really cares. Pitfall #2 going straight to Netflix which doesn’t give a date or time. Pitfall #3 leaving the channel on Triple D and not even bothering to pull up the TV guide.

As I think back, I know I went for a massage therapy appointment Friday afternoon, but for some reason, it didn’t stick with me as being Friday, it just sort of morphed into being Saturday. On the bright side, it doesn’t feel so much as if I lost a day, it feels more like I’ve gained a whole day! I get to do Sunday all over again!

This brings to mind another time when I got lost somewhere in the Twilight Zone. I was on deadline and hadn’t been out of my office for a full ten days other than to eat or sleep. We were invited out for the Saturday night and Stupid insisted that we go, so, grudgingly, with my mind in the Highlands strategizing a battle scene, we went to a friends house for dinner. I walked in and there were several other couples there, all of them sitting around, eyes glued to the TV. I figured it had to be something fascinating so I sat and watched for about five minutes, not really getting why they were all fixated on watching (boring) live footage of a white Bronco full of orange juice being followed down the highway by a dozen or so police cruisers.

Yup. Missed the whole OJ Simpson thing.

10 Comments »

  1. I can’t wait until I can “miss a day”….its my dream. Sorta like sleeping past 6 am. The OJ thing….you didn’t miss a thing. Miss ya Masha

    Comment by Brenda Mathews Barrett — June 22, 2015 @ 12:36 pm | Reply

  2. I AM WONDERING IF YOUR 3RD BOOK IN THE DANTE SERIES…….THE FOLLOWING SEA…….IS AVAILABLE IN PAPERBACK……I ONLY SEEM TO BE ABLE TO FIND IT IN KINDLE……..I HAVE THE FIRST TWO BOOKS IN THIS SERIES IN PAPERBACK AND WISH TO ADD THIS 3RD BOOK………..my email address is : its_me_linda_2002@yahoo.com

    Comment by Nanna Linda — June 22, 2015 @ 8:24 pm | Reply

    • Sorry, but no. The Following Sea is digital only at the present time. I am seriously thinking of putting all of my books into POD format but that takes time, and I’m focussing more on finishing the next new book for now.

      Comment by marshacanham — June 24, 2015 @ 12:25 pm | Reply

  3. Marsha please write anther book, I go onto your site all the time, hoping to see that you have magically done this, but sadly nothing to date 😥

    Comment by Dee Blackie — June 24, 2015 @ 11:35 am | Reply

    • Dee, I am working on another book. Two, actually. I know I work slowly and it can be frustrating to readers as well as to myself, but I refuse to just throw words on a page and get it out as quickly as possible and call it a book. I used to frustrate editors too because I never met a deadline on time, and while there are huge benefits to self publishing, like no deadlines or editors to nag you, there are also drawbacks, like no deadlines or editors to nag you.

      When I was younger I found I could lock myself away in my office for days on end and never emerge. Can’t do that anymore. I have things to do and places to go and grandchildren who, if they want to come over and spend the day shopping or making crafts or playing cards, I’m not going to say no. I lost a lot of that time with my son when he was growing up and I was always too busy writing. Not going to do it with them. I love writing, but not at the expense of stopping to smell the roses.

      Comment by marshacanham — June 24, 2015 @ 12:21 pm | Reply

  4. “Applause”…..good for you! Hell ….I am enjoying your blogs!!!! Especially about your Dad. Mine is 89 in October and I am currently living with he and Mom (83). I love spending time with them and helping when I can. I work so we are not in each others pockets. They are both VERY independent but do need some assistance. You can’t ever get that time back and I am happy to have it with them. Keep writing those blogs. Love ’em!

    Comment by Brenda Mathews Barrett — June 24, 2015 @ 12:27 pm | Reply

  5. I am SO excited to hear that there WILL be a fourth book in the Dante series!! I was beginning to lose hope. You are my favorite romance writer by a looooooooooong shot, and it seems like I’ve been through all of your books several times each. The prospect of getting my hands on some new material makes me extremely happy.

    Comment by M. — August 5, 2015 @ 7:53 pm | Reply

    • Thank you Margaret! It’s coming, it’s coming. It’s sooooo much more difficult to write a fourth book in a series, where the main characters are all pirates, the women are all strong enough to be on equal footing, where most of the action takes place on board ships, and they’re all pretty much fighting the same enemies…without making each book the same. I couldn’t think of a plot that put Jonas on land unless I cut off both his legs and arms, and I couldnt imagine him falling for a woman who couldn’t hold her own against him. So it’s been ten pages forward, twenty back trying to fight my way through all of the “that won’t work”s. *I* was beginning to lose hope! but I think I’m on the right heading now.

      Comment by marshacanham — August 6, 2015 @ 12:05 pm | Reply

  6. Soooooo excited to hear you are writing another two books!! I’ve read all of your books. Some many times over. Enjoy your grandchildren!!

    Comment by Teresa — November 4, 2015 @ 3:44 pm | Reply

  7. Just rereading Through a Dark Mist after babysitting my 3 year old grand daughter all day.
    In retirement, I have opened a used book store,& as I was admiring my sister’s shelf organizing skills…your books were in front of my eyes! Lol
    Slipped it into my own book bag to reread for the, I don’t know umpteenth time.

    Comment by Karey K. West — July 13, 2016 @ 10:39 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.